Peto & Radford Accumulators


Product Description

We know this to be a rare early double sided enamel sign as William Radford founded the Peto & Radford company in 1882 and sold it to “Smiths” under the name of Prittchets & Gold in 1918 who then continued to provide batteries to the automotive industry using the Peto & Radford name for more than 10 years.

This sign therefore was made and displayed between 1882 and 1918 as during this time “Smiths” was also using its own branding for electrical components.

This enamel on steel sign is a rare item indeed having survived for over 100 years.  It is double sided and measures 24 inches wide by 18 inches in height (61cm x 46cm) and has solid return.  There is some minor chips but apart from that it is relatively unmarked and is in its original condition. The blue enamel lettering on the bright yellow background is stunning.